ASSUMPTIONS

“Be swift to hear, slow to speak and slow to wrath; for a man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.”

  • James 1:19 – 20.

The month of October has been an unusual month in my country, Nigeria. A lot of events have taken place, and many people may have already tagged this month as an unforgettable month in the history of Nigeria.

With the number of occurrences that have happened, many conclusions have been made. Many of these conclusions are very logical. Nevertheless, they are still assumptions because there is not enough evidence to prove the validity of the conclusions.

Personally, I have not been comfortable with many of these assumptions or some may call it conclusions, even though I agree that a lot of things are suspicious.

If I would be honest, I have had a lot of internal unrest with many things that happened this month in my country, ever since they began. And I’ve felt alone in my thoughts.

In fact, I started to ask myself if I was still normal/okay because I wasn’t thinking like every other person. I must confess too that I made some hasty assumptions and conclusions initially.

I was going to share my candid thoughts and conclusions when the words of James came to my heart, “be swift to hear, slow to speak and slow to wrath…” I decided to exercise extra patience before making any conclusion.

I decided also to be careful not to speak until I was sure of what I wanted to say, and until I had a go ahead from within to say what I wanted, and also to be cautious that I wasn’t speaking from a place of anger and ignorance.

I ended up not doing much speaking but listening to different views, and just weighing them. I spoke a little but really, in some of those cases, I wish I didn’t. I guess I just didn’t understand some things.

Towards the end of this month however, the events that have happened in Nigeria have left most Nigerians, including me, very sad. These events have been disheartening, heartbreaking and pathetic.

For someone like me, I have so many questions, and the actions of the government have been very questionable.

On social media, I see some conclusions already being made.

While I am tempted to give the same conclusions, why should I? Because of what I see on social media, what my friends tell me or because of some ‘evidences’?

No, I would not be hasty to say what I am not sure of. Time will always tell. I know too that God is real and He sees all that happens; in time, true justice will prevail.

While I should not be quick to make assumptions, there are some things that I can actually do, and they are all founded on biblical truth. I have already started. They include:

1.) Humbling myself, praying and seeking God’s face and intervention regarding Nigeria.

2.) Turning from my sinful ways.

3.) Praying every day for the healing and restoration of Nigeria. I know that consistent prayers work wonders.

4.) Praying for my leaders. Praying for wisdom for them, forgiveness of sins, the reign of righteousness in their hearts.

The truth is whether I like it or not, they are my leaders. The best I can do is to pray for them, do the right thing as a patriotic citizen and encourage others to do the same.

The success of a nation is not just the leader’s duty but that of both the citizens and leaders. Also, my Mom usually says “uneasy lies the head that wears the crown”.

It is true, the leaders may not have been very just but I don’t believe that it’s in my place to curse, say ill things about them, come to any conclusion or incite people to hate them.

In the bible, King Saul was very unjust to David, but when David had opportunities to take King Saul’s life, he didn’t do so. On one occasion, his words were “Who can lay his hands on the LORD’s anointed and be guiltless?” (1 Samuel 26:9).

We may not kill our leaders physically, but our thoughts and words concerning them matter a lot.

Paul, addressing the Roman Church said that “the authorities that exist have been established by God” (Romans 13:1). This is why it is important to always pray for them. Note: We can speak against unjust actions but not curse, ridicule or say what we are not sure of about our leaders.

5.) Praying for comfort for the brokenhearted and those that have been affected by the events that have happened in the nation. These people are in pain. I pray for their healing, pray that they encounter Jesus and if I can, I’ll do the needful based on my capacity to support them.

6.) Pulling down strongholds of darkness militating against this nation, in the place of prayer.

7.) Praying for the reign of truth and justice in the land, and just praying as the Spirit leads.

8.) In addition, I’ll see to it that I do the right thing and take more responsibility as a patriotic citizen, and as an ambassador of Christ.

There’s a whole lot more to do than just making assumptions, especially when the assumptions are made from a place of anger, or even fear.

It is better to be patient and pray. Sometimes when we make hasty conclusions, it does not do good especially when you find out that the conclusions were wrong (this has happened to me before).

However, if we’re not quick to speak from a place of assumptions, it does more good. Even if our assumptions are eventually correct, it is still better to just wait and see. Time will tell. It is important that we guide our minds and just do the right thing.

I encourage every reader of this post to be patient in relationships, situations around and not to be quick to make conclusions/assumptions, especially in annoyance.

Be patient and pray fervently, and do the needful. I believe that the truth will eventually be revealed. The earnest and heartfelt prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective.

P.S: I pray for comfort at this time for all of us who are Nigerians, especially the injured and those who have lost loved ones and even properties.

I pray that the Lord directs us and grants us the wisdom, strength and unity needed to forge ahead. I pray for righteousness and Godly wisdom for our leaders.

I pray for the restoration of the land. I pray for truth, justice and righteousness to prevail in the land. I pray for peace and unity. Amen.

I guess I just wanted to pour out my thoughts.

Thank you for reading through.

Published by Oluwatomi Kayode

Hello there! My name is Oluwatomi Kayode. A lot of people see me as 'gentle'. Beneath my gentle surface though are many thoughts and words that sometimes want to come out all at once. In giving a description of myself, I'd just say that there's more than meets the eye. That being said; I'm a Christian lady who is growing in my love for God, and being a Christian informs my views and values in life. I love to express my thoughts and share my experiences by writing them. Also, I like to inspire people and make them know that there's so much that has been placed in them by God. We're all God's workmanship. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have an interesting read of my blog posts.

8 thoughts on “ASSUMPTIONS

  1. I have to say, this is a great post! You know Biblical Opinion is often unpopular opinion. So yes, you’re spot on to obey the Holy Spirit about these things. It’s a different but highly important perspective and I agree. Thank you for sharing these thoughts. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started